Teaser Tuesday: The Portrait of a Lady by Henry James

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of  Should Be Reading.  Anyone can play along! Just do the following;

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • Be careful not to include spoilers! (Make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others.)
  • Share the title and author so that other TT particpants can add the book to their TBR lists if they like your teasers!

My Teasers:

Arno River

“He had been dressed just as he had been dressed on that day, Isabel remembered the colour of his cravat; and yet in spite of this familiar look there was a strangeness in his figure too, something that made her feel it afresh to be rather terrible he should have come to Rome.”

“He appeared never to have heard of any river in America but the Mississippi and was unprepared to recognize the existence of the Hudson, though obliged to confess at last that it was fully equal to the Rhine.”

I have to admit I’m having a love/hate relationship with this book. It is our chosen Classics/Impossibles read on my Facebook Book Club. Since it was collecting dust on my shelf I jumped right into the group read when it was suggested our next big read was The Portrait of a Lady by Henry James. I’m glad I did it, now I can check that off my To Be Read Shelf. And perhaps in time I will look back on this story with great fondness. For right now, it is at times work getting through it! I am interested in watching the movie version of this book.

Our next big read is A Suitable Boy by Vikram Seth. I’m really looking forward to it.

How about you? Would you read a book like The Portrait of a Lady? Let me know in the comments section below!

Please leave a link to your own Teaser Tuesdays post, or share your “teasers” in a comment in the section below. 

3 responses to “Teaser Tuesday: The Portrait of a Lady by Henry James

  1. Pingback: Teaser Tuesdays (October 15 2013) | A Mixed Bag

Leave a Reply

