Fall Resolutions: Plunge into the Project at Hand and Fight Off Hesitation

As so many of my fellow bloggers have posted it is finally autumn! I didn’t realize how much in common I had with so many people who really love this time of year. The mornings are crisp, bright, and clean. No wonder each day I wake up and feel energized to take on my day. By take on my day I mean clean!

Autumn

I am in an eternal cycle of re-organizing right now. I don’t know why I can’t get ahead of it, maybe it’s all the marketing on my social media sites that is taking up some of my vital energy? Could be, but I won’t lay all the blame on Facebook. I’m a natural born procrastinator.  Something I have been trying to break free from for some time. I must be doing somewhat okay because how else could I have finished my first book, right? Well, now I’m using the excuse of “I have to organize first,” as my next ploy as to why I haven’t started that historical novel I’ve been daydreaming about for five years.

English: Hesitation by Alfred Garth Jones

English: Hesitation by Alfred Garth Jones (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I must confess, I did write my first sentence. Want to read it?

I’m still too shy, but I will give you a clue: the story is based on actual occurrences in my husbands family during WWII, plus a lot of made up stuff that didn’t happen. The main characters will be a boy, around thirteen, and his older sister, about age twenty-five. They will be caught up in the whirlwind of the Holocaust and each of them face obstacles to their survival. Each will learn to survive in their own unique way. Along the way they will meet others trying to ensure their own lives as well. Since I love art, there is going to be a mystery thrown in about a missing, priceless work of art. How can a book about the Holocaust not have a Nazi or two thrown in? So there will be that too.

I have more to tell you, but I should really save that for the manuscript. There will most likely be several drafts and then a professional edit, but not before my husband critiques it in his usual tender way: “Eww, take that part out. It doesn’t make sense!” or “Yuck, re-write!” Truthfully, the re-writes always turn out better with his review. My pride must endure the pain of it all. I’d rather take the bad review from him than any of my dear readers. For you, I want only the best before your eyes.

Why am I explaining all of this? I’m telling you so it will be out there that another book is in the works and I will be held accountable for finishing the story. I work well under pressure! I realize I’m only accountable to myself, no one is out there holding their breath, waiting for a book. There are so many wonderful talented authors actually getting the writing done. I know because I’ve been reading their fantastic stories! So what is another book? Well, I guess it’s just something I have to do.

English: New Year's Resolutions postcard

English: New Year’s Resolutions postcard (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’m going to take this quote by author Steven Pressfield to heart: “Resistance knows that the longer we noodle around ‘getting ready,’ the more time and opportunity we’ll have to sabotage ourselves. Resistance loves it when we hesitate, when we over-prepare. The answer: plunge in.”

Since the fall is usually my time for starting a new year, I’m diving in now.

What are your autumn resolutions? I would love to hear about your projects. 

Leave a Reply

