What an Author Really Means When He says I’m a Slow Writer

Lately I’ve seen a couple of posts on the topic of writing speed. One writer commented that author Sue Grafton, who writes the alphabetical themed mysteries, averages a book every two years. This was considered slow by my writer friend who exclaimed that if she took that long to write a book she would forget where she left off. Good for her, I say! If you can write and publish a book in less time that that, you must be doing something right! Another writer posted that he won’t be posting as much since he needs to do extensive re-writes on a novel he hopes to have accepted by a small press. He is giving himself six months to complete his re-write.  Apparently he feels this is a long time because he followed with, “I’m slow.”

English:

Really? I don’t consider that slow. In fact, I will let you in on a little secret: I’m a really slow writer. But, what exactly do I mean when I say I’m slow?

Writing is a hobby for me. Don’t be shocked. Even though I’m a published author, with my first book to be released this year, writing isn’t my full-time job. After God, family, taking care of myself, taking care of the household chores (i.e., cleaning, cooking, shopping, paying bills, laundry), working at our small business, and fitting in the time to exercise, I may sit down and get some writing done, if of course I’m not too tired from all the stuff I do during my regular day. That’s where the slow writing bit comes in. I just haven’t figured out a workable schedule yet. What helps is that while I’m running errands and such, I’m constantly thinking about what I will write when I do sit down. That speeds up the process. After ruminating for a time, I get to the point where I can’t wait to sit down and get these thoughts out of my head and onto the screen.

I wish I could write faster, but until I can hire a housekeeper and my husband expands his business–which to be honest, we don’t have plans for expansion, we both like it the way it is–then I will continue to write at the pace I currently write…slow.

How do you write? Share what slows down your writing schedule, or tips on how to clear space in your day to write faster.

European Hare Deutsch: Feldhase

6 responses to “What an Author Really Means When He says I’m a Slow Writer

  1. Pingback: Step One To Thinking of Yourself as a Writer | The Collaborative Writer

  2. I consider myself a slow writer for similar reasons, but I also believe the more I do it, the faster it happens. I edited, obtained critiques and rewrote endlessly with my first novel. However, I’m currently receiving feedback on my first draft of my WIP, and it’s very positive. I’m hoping the rewrites won’t take another five years with this one, simply because I’ve learned a lot about writing in the last ten years.

  3. Pingback: Authors: What does success mean to you | readful things blog

  4. Pingback: Write Until You Drop | Sweet Tea in a Mason Jar

  5. I find what slows me down are letting a made-up list of endless household chores get in my way. Another thing that sometimes impedes my creativity is others’ negativity. There are some days I force myself not to answer the phone or to do any cleaning, shopping etc. and just focus on writing.

  6. Man, April, I’m with you on this and I haven’t written any full-length books. I’ve heard of authors having words spilling out them so fast they could hardly get them down on paper.

    When I went to my first writer’s informal gathering, I didn’t know what to expect and truly came away learning a lot. But, having only self-published a short 16-page e-book, I couldn’t imagine how someone could write a 100,000 word novel. But, it seemed from their experiences the words just flowed out of them.

    I really struggle with it sometimes.

Leave a Reply

