Persistence is the Key to a Successful Writing Career

I’m not going to wax religious, but the other day I read a passage in the Bible that made me think of the principal of persistence.  Here is the passage:

Luke 11:9: “Keep on asking, and it will be given you; keep on seeking, and you will find; keep on knocking, and it will be opened to you.”

Of course this is in relation to our prayers, but I thought, hey, why can’t I apply this same principal to writing? Basically the scripture in reference is about persistence. Persistence pays off. So, to you would-be best-selling author’s out there (myself included), let’s keep reading, let’s keep writing, let’s keep blogging and building our platform’s, let’s keep knocking on agent’s “doors” with our query letters. Let’s keep the faith that something good will come out of our passion for writing.

4 responses to “Persistence is the Key to a Successful Writing Career

  1. Persistence is so much work too. Right now I’m pushing to build my platform and audience. I was originally going to self-publish, but found an indie publisher to take on my book, and so now I feel even more pressured to get building, building, building. They are helping with marketing though, but I have a slice of control freak in me and a desire to take part in my labor of love, so I’m doing lots of connecting with other writers.

  2. Pingback: When Your Manuscript is Rejected by an Agent/Publisher Write a Hate-filled Letter…and Other Ways to Ruin Your Reputation | Reno Gal Says

Leave a Reply

