A List of Favorite Holocaust Movies

Yad Vashem Hall of Names

While this is not a cheerful subject, I couldn’t resist making a list of some pretty great Holocaust themed movies. While I was doing my research for the The Altered I, I watched a lot of movies based on the Holocaust. Some were factual, while a few were fictional accounts. But here is a list of my  all time favorite-not-to-be-missed Holocaust movies.

1. The Diary of Anne Frank (1959)

2. The Pawnbroker (1964)

3 . Holocaust (1978)

4. Sophie’s Choice (1982)

5. Schindler’s List (1993)

6. Life is Beautiful (1997, Italian)

7. The Pianist (2002)

8. The Counterfeiters (2007, German)

This list reminded me that there a few books of honorable mention, but I’ll save that for later.

That’s what I have to say. What Holocaust movies do you recommend?

Leave a Reply

