Goal Setting: Influence Your Own Motivation

energy

Anyone who knows me knows how much I love my Zumba Fitness classes, but today the energy just wasn’t there. Fifteen minutes into the routine I gave myself several excuses why I couldn’t be in class today:

  • my knees hurt (early onset of arthritis?)
  • it’s too hot to dance
  • I have too much stuff to do, I don’t have time to stay longer.

I was planning on ditching class in another fifteen minutes. I was barely hanging in there with the rest of the group. Fifteen minutes went by and I told myself just hang in there, give it ten more minutes. My eyes darted to the clock on the wall, will this class never end?  I had important things to do today like go to the bank and return DVD’s (I’m too young to feel this old!)

But, with one tick of the minute hand everything changed. Was it my favorite song? No, this was a new one (I later learned it was Bhangra, a Punjabi folk dance typically performed by men, although we were a mixed group of men and women I think it was OK). Maybe it was the Bhangra,  it’s such a joyful dance, but whatever it was, something clicked into place for me and my energy levels soared. I even had my moves like Jagger groove on. So what was the deal?

I started to think about motivation and how we are responsible for creating it within ourselves. Whatever the task may be: office work, housework, cleaning out the garage, or exercise. Set your goal, envision where you want to be by days end, power through the pain  and get moving. Like the old adage, “fake it til you make it” I believe if I act like I can accomplish my goals then I believe I can succeed.

That’s what I have to say. I’d love to hear what motivates you when the energy just isn’t there. 

Leave a Reply

