A Short Note on Blogging

Why this blog? The short answer is because my publisher recommends I have one. The long answer is… no, there is no other answer. The reason is basically the short answer.

I wrote a book

I want to build a platform

I need to find my tribe

I’m a shy person, really. I tell my friends this and they scoff at me. Really, I am. I don’t have a burning desire to share my world, my thoughts, my life. I’m a book person, and as such I like to be by myself quietly reading a book.

On the surface it would seem I want to share everything since I have a Facebook page, a Twitter account, and I’m on LinkedIn.

Believe me, this is all for the good of the book. Yup, that again.(If you’re interested in purchasing this book, entitled The Altered I, a Holocaust Memoir, please follow the link to LeRue Press.)

I thought it would be neat to become a published author, never knowing what that quest would entail. (In retrospect, it took about four years, which is fast in the publishing world). I made every mistake a new writer could make a long the way.

Facebook wall costume - it's interactive!

I’ll just skip ahead to the bit about where I landed a publisher, a small press, if you will.   Anyone who has written a book knows they need someone to:

buy it

read it

share it

How will anyone know about the book unless you tell them, right? So, here is the birth of my blog. And boy was it a long time coming. I have hesitated (out of fear, lack of knowledge, laziness) for the past year to start said blog, but now here I am. Now is the time.

That is what I have to say. Why did you start your blog? If you don’t blog, why not?

One response to “A Short Note on Blogging

Leave a Reply

